Board of Directors

Mr Michael J. Hoy

Mr Hoy has more than 30 years corporate experience in Australia, the United Kingdom, USA and Asia. He is Chairman of Telesso Technologies Limited and Lipotek Pty Limited and a former director of John Fairfax Holdings Limited and FXF Trust.

He has been a Director since 7 February 2000 and Chairman since 16 March 2000.

Dr Michelle Miller, BSc, MSc, PhD GCertAppFin (Finsia)
Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director

Dr Miller has worked for over 20 years in the bioscience industry, with extensive experience in commercial development of early to mid stage technologies. She completed her PhD in the Faculty of Medicine at Sydney University investigating molecular models of cancer development. Her experience includes several years at Johnson and Johnson developing anti-HIV gene therapeutics through preclinical research to clinical trials. She has finance industry experience from time spent as an Investment Manager with a specialist bioscience venture capital fund.

Dr Miller was appointed as Managing Director on 21 June 2002.

Dr Susan Pond AM, MD DSc, FTSE
Independent and Non-Executive Director

Dr Susan Pond has a strong scientific and commercial background having held executive positions in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry for 12 years, most recently as Chairman and Managing Director of Johnson & Johnson Research Pty Limited (2003-2009). She has held many previous Board positions including as Executive Director of Johnson & Johnson Pty Limited and Non-executive Director and Chairman of AusBiotech Limited, Director of Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Orgnaisation and Board member of Innovation Australia.

Dr Pond is currently on the Boards of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, of which she is Vice-President. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Dr Pond holds a first class honours degree in Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery from the University of Sydney and a Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of New South Wales. She obtained specialist clinical credentials in internal medicine, clinical pharmacology and clinical toxicology and has held academic appointments at the University of California, San Francisco and the University of Queensland before joining industry.

Dr Pond was appointed as a Director on 7 March 2012.

Mr Rob Thomas BEc, MSDIA, SF Fin, FICD
Independent and Non-Executive Director

Mr Thomas has over 35 years experience in the securities industry, with Potter Partners (now UBS), County NatWest and Citigroup.

He is the Chairman of Starpharma Holdings Limited and a Director of Aus Bio Limited, Heartware Inc, REVA Medical Limited and Virgin Australia Limited. He chairs Grahger Capital Securities, and is a Director of O’Connell Street Associates Pty Limited.

Mr Thomas has a Bachelor of Economics from Monash University (1963–1966). He has been a member of the Securities Institute of Australia since 1976 and was appointed as a Fellow to the Institute in 1997. He is a Master Stockbroker and is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Thomas was appointed as a Director on 7 March 2012.

Dr Denis Wade
Independent and Non-Executive Director

Dr Wade has been involved for over 40 years with the development of research based pharmaceuticals and medical devices in both industry and academia. He has been a Director of several private and public companies in the healthcare sector, including Heartware Limited and subsequently Heartware International Inc., since December 2004.  He was a Director and Chairman of Gene Shears Pty Limited and, from 1987 until his retirement in 2002, was Managing Director and Chairman of Johnson & Johnson Research Pty Ltd, a research and development company of Johnson & Johnson Inc.  He was also a member of the J&J Corporate Office of Science and Technology.  Prior to that, Dr Wade was the Foundation Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of New South Wales and served as a member of a number of state and federal bodies related to the drug industry, including the P3 Committee.

He is a former Chairman of the Australian Academy National Committee for Pharmacology, the Australasian Society for Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology and a former chairman of the Clinical Pharmacology Section of the International Union of Pharmacology.

Dr Wade holds a first class honours degree in Medicine and Science from the University of Sydney and a Doctorate of Philosophy from the University of Oxford. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science by the University of New South Wales and is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.  In 1999 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

Dr Wade was appointed as a director on 30 April 2010.